To Veg…or Not to Veg?

For a long while, I’ve teetered on the edge of becoming a vegetarian.  There was a time in my teens that I gave up all meat but fish & chicken.  I’ve always found my reasons not to do it…none of them valid.  I’ve consumed less & less meat over the past couple of years & even less in the past month.  I’ve recently discovered that eliminating dairy from my diet has caused a great deal of my stomach discomfort to disappear.  I can eat raw broccoli again with no pain.  ( I love broccoli.)

So…this weekend, I watched “Forks over Knives”.  If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.  It is eye opening to say the least.  I must admit that none of it was unexpected, but the correlation between illnesses & animal products is insane.  To think that one might prevent cancer by avoiding animal products is amazing.  I have the power to keep my body healthy by what I consume.  

The conclusion I have come to is this…I will choose to put healthy food into my body.  I may consume meat on special occasions, such as Thanksgiving, but as far as the rest of the year goes…I declare that I will not be a meat eater.  For now, I will allow myself eggs & very limited dairy.  We shall see how it goes.  I’m not sure that I’m prepared to call myself a vegetarian.  I don’t think it’s quite fair to those who truly are, but I will refer to myself as a 364 vegetarian. 

Forks Over Knives

Leave a Reply

