If I Can…You Can!

There was a time in my life not so long ago when “can’t” was something I often said.  I was never the girl who wanted to do exceptional things…I couldn’t.  For what has now been almost 2 years, I have been that girl.  Yesterday I ran my first 10K and finished in 49 minutes 46 seconds.  It won’t be my last.

As a child, I always just knew that I wasn’t athletic…so I didn’t try to be.  I couldn’t throw or catch a ball (still can’t).  No sport was a fit for me, so I accepted it.  If you had asked me 5 years ago to go for a run…I would have laughed and told you I’d be out of breath before we made it to the end of the block (it was true).

I’m not sure when or why it happened, but one day it was like a switch was flipped on inside me.  I knew that I had to do more…that I could do more.  I started small.  I set a goal…and I ran.  I know it’s cliche, but I put one foot in front of the other and just went for it.  Day 1, I made it down the road before I walked.  The next time it was farther…and then farther still.  I remember the first day I ran the whole way.  It was slow and I’m pretty sure I almost died, but the feeling inside was amazing.  Me…the girl who couldn’t…I just did it!  I ran!  I set a goal & met it.

From that day on, my life has been different.  I changed that inner voice from “can’t” to “why not?”  If I try and fail, I’ll just try harder the next time.  I will never stop.  I don’t give up…I just try again and again and again until I get it right.  It’s not just about running…it’s about all of life.  

“The greatest calamity is not to have failed, but to have failed to try.” 

So, I say to you, “If I can…You can!”  Just go for it…give it your all…and be proud of yourself just for trying.

Leave a Reply

